Food before one is just for fun. Except when it isn’t.

Food before one is just for fun is a cute phrase, but it isn’t true at all.

A while back I made a blog post about my very small babies and our breast feeding journey. It was right before five months. If we had lasted this long successfully nursing, then why on earth would the Dr. tell us to start formula feeding? So I started getting confident that my glorious breasts were a well established food truck. Until the Dr. said the girls were too small and we had to start supplementing at five months.. Why on earth would we be told this SO CLOSE TO SOLIDS?  But, the dr. wasn’t mean about it. We agreed that I was making enough milk. We agreed they were small. We agreed the goal was that formula would be temporary. So he wanted me to some how jam 13 oz of formula into each baby, while nursing every feeding, and pumping too… um… I just don’t have that many arms.

When I came home with the news my husband was not happy. Now, he wasn’t upset that I wasn’t doing a good job, which is what I was upset about. He was upset at the idea of force feeding the babies. But we tried, for two days. We got half an ounce into one baby. And thus our journey on solids began.  It started with a call to the  Gerber hotline which was helpful and wanted calls back and updates. They offer a Lactation Consultant and Dietitians to talk to for free. But I didn’t call during business hours. So I spoke to some one with minimal training who told me not to start solids. Food before one is just for fun, and they can’t start solids till 13 pounds or double their birth weight.  I schedualed a call back with a nutritionist who was incredibly helpful and supportive. and agreed that in our situation, solids might be a good idea, but I needed to call the dr.

We started with super high calorie foods. Avocado’s which they hated are 45 cal an oz. Sweet potatoes are 24, banana’s are 25, and whole plain greek yoghurt which is 220 a cup.  In my mind, as long as the caloric value was higher than the formula, it was good news. The babies gained a pound in three weeks. Which was really all we were hoping for on formula too. I’m trying my hardest to make sure they are nursing as often as they did, and pumping too.

 

Now with this weight gain. It was pretty obvious, that food before one is in fact, not just for fun. According to WHO Around the age of 6 months, an infant’s need for energy and nutrients starts to exceed what is provided by breast milk, and complementary foods are necessary to meet those needs. An infant of this age is also developmentally ready for other foods. If complementary foods are not introduced around the age of 6 months, or if they are given inappropriately, an infant’s growth may falter.  So according to this, I started solids at the right time! You can read more info about the WHO’s recommendation on starting solids and exclusively breast fed babies here.

 

 

There you go dear overly supportive husband, I made a new blog post.

Leave a Reply

