Breast feeding doubts and inadequate pumping

I’m producing enough to feed two small humans WHY THE FUCK AM I ONLY PUMPING ONE OUNCE???

And seriously, they are so fucking small. Why is that Doctor telling me every thing is fine????????? Why is that lactation lady telling me every thing is fine? Why is the WIC person telling me every thing is fine? Why won’t some one question me like I question myself????

My babies are really small. Still. But they started out “so big for twins.” Or so every one says. They started out at 5 pounds 7 ounces and 5 pounds 15 ounces. Not to be confused with a scale that reads 5.7 because apparently that’s a different amount. Some one forgot to tell all the nurses at our first doctor that one.   Anyway, now, at 18 weeks they are a whopping 8 pounds and 10 ounces. Four months old, and the size of a newborn, and they simply were not that small when they started out.

My daughters cousin is two weeks older, and sixteen pounds. I look at anecdotal answers of other peoples twin experiences, and it just seems like the people whose twins are still as small as mine are few and far between. Every one is growing so big, and while I love my little babies, I worry. I blame myself, my boobs, my supply. But it simply isn’t the case.

Here’s why:

Parents.com says this: Remember that most babies lose some weight during the first few days of life, but usually regain this weight over the next few days so that within a week to 10 days they’re back to their original birth weight. 1 to 4 months: Babies usually gain 1 1/2 to 2 pounds and grow 1 to 1 1/2 inches each month.

So lets apply this to my very tiny babies. lets use baby A. starts at 5.7. Her weight doesn’t drop out of the hospital because of nicu forcing supplement, but does drop a week after leaving the hospital to 4 pounds 14 ounces. Her next accurate weight was at 15 weeks. 7 pounds 9 ounces. In 13 weeks she gained  three pounds . Thats a pound a month. Her next visit was 18 weeks and she was 8 pounds 10 ounces. Thats another pound. It’s not a pound and a half. But it is why no one is freaking out.

Now, we hear all the time that pumping isn’t an accurate way to tell you what you are producing. And it isn’t. I can sit on the pump for a half hour and walk down the stairs and feed my babies.  In fact. I used to be able to pump two ounces. One night my baby woke up while I was pumping and I decided to keep pumping. While listening to my sad crying baby down stairs. I was able to pump half an ounce that time. And I have only been able to get one ounce ever since. It really sucks for trying to get a supply built up. But thats about it.

Some things to make sure pumping is as successful as it can be: give yourself time. Relax. Bring water. Message. Use a warm compress. Ensure the proper flange size. The size of your flange will not be reflected by your boob size. I have DDD’s. I have HUGE areolas. But I use an extra small flange. And yes, I have tried every size. If you don’t have right size and you are relying on pumping it will ruin your chances!  They come in 27, 24, 21, 19, 17 mm.breastpump

There’s a thing you can do called power pumping. I have heard this two ways, but the goal is the same; it will help up your supply.

One way to do it is to pump for five minutes. Wait a minute. Pump another five minutes. Do this three times.  The other ways is to do it twenty minutes and wait five and do it for ten minutes, repeat a few times.

And of course there are the potions. I started making lactation muffins. They are yummy! I found 45 calorie 9 grain bread. And reading through the grains, it has a ton of lactation promoting ingredients. So, incorporating that into my diet for sure. There are tea’s. And then also fenugreek and blessed thistle.

 

An important things is just watching cues from the babies. By three months my son needed to have formula. He was lethargic. He  was always happy. He never cried. His blood sugar was probably low. My small twins are happy, active, playful, tell me when they are hungry. But most importantly, they are putting out six to eight wet diapers a day. Four to five is the norm. Urine is clear! This is also very important.When a baby is dehydrated their soft spot will be sunken in, this has never happened.

Good luck ladies! And by the way. Don’t sit up at midnight typing about your boobs, in the dark, watching ghost adventures, next to two very restless babies who occasionally squeek in their sleep!

 

Leave a Reply

